top of page

Palm Dog Full List of Winners 


Canine Cast


White God (2014)

Lucky the Maltipoo


Arabian Nights (2015)



Paterson (2016)



The Meyerowitz Stories



Winner: “Otis” in ‪The Anniversary Party by Jennifer Jason Leigh (Metropolitan Film Export)



Winner: “Tähti” as Hannibal in ‪The Man Without a Past by Aki Kaurismaki (dist Pyramide)



Winner: “Moses” in ‪Dogville by Lars Von Trier (Dist:Les Film du losange)

Special mention “Bruno” in ‪The Triplets of Belleville by Sylvain Chomet

Jury Members: Derek Malcolm, Dana Thomas (Newsweek International), Charles Gant and James Christopher and, as ever, Muttley Rose presided.



Winner: “All the Dogs” in Mondovino by Jonathan Nossiter (Diaphana)

Special mention to acrobatic dog in Life is a Miracle by Emir Kusturica

Jury Members: Peter Bradshaw, James Christopher, Charles Gant, Derek Malcolm.



Winner: “The Shepherd’s Dog” in Cave of the Yellow Dog by Byanbasure Davaa

Special mention:  faithful little West Highland terrier in Greyfriars Bobby by John Henderson

Jury Members: James Christopher, Charles Gant, Derek Malcolm, Hamish McAlpine



Winner: “Mops” in Marie Antoinette by Sofia Coppola (Pathé)

Special mention: Schumann as Reisenschnauser in Pingpong by Mattias Luthardt

Jury Members: Peter Bradshaw, James Christopher, Charles Gant, Derek Malcolm, Hamish McAlpine



Winners (tied:

“All the Stray Dogs in Mid Town Gang by Pantham Thonsang

“Yuki” in Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi and Vincent Paronnaud  (Diaphana)

Jury Members: Hamish MacAlpine, Derek Malcolm, Peter Bradshaw, James Christopher, Charles Gant and, for the first time, Kaleem Aftab.



Winner: Lucy in ‪Wendy and Lucy‪ by Kelly Reichardt (Epicentre Films)

Jury prize “Molly” in O’Horten by Bent Hamer

Jury Members: Kaleem Aftab, Peter Bradshaw, James Christopher, Charles Gant, Derek Malcolm



Winner: “Dug” in Up by Pete Docter and Bob Peterson (Walt Disney)

Jury Prize “Rex” in Canine by Yorgos Lanthimos

Special mention “Tennants” in Fish Tank by Andrea Arnold

Jury Members: Kaleem Aftab, Peter Bradshaw, James Christopher, Charles Gant



Winner:  “Boss” in ‪Tamara Drewe by Stephen Frears (Diaphana)

Jury Prize “Vuk” in ‪Le quattro volte by Michelangelo Frammartino

Jury Members: Peter Bradshaw, Hamish McAlpine, Kaleem Aftab, Charles Gant



Winner: “Jack the Dog” played by Uggie in The Artist by Michel Hazanavicius (Warner Bros)

Jury prize to Laïka in Le Havre by Aki Kaurismaki

Jury Members: Peter Bradshaw, Derek Malcolm, Kate Muir, Christian Monggaard, Hamish MacAlpine, Kaleem Aftab, Charles Gant.



Winner: Smurf (played by Poppy and Banjo) in Sightseers by Ben Wheatley (Wild Side/Le Pacte)

Jury prize: “Billy Bob” in Le grand soir by Benoît Delepine & Gustave Kerven

Jury Members: Kate Muir, The Times; Charles Gant, Heat Magazine; Peter Bradshaw, The Guardian; Christian Monggaard, Information-Copenhagen; Kaleem Aftab, The Independent; and Robbie Colin, The Telegraph.



Winner: “Baby Boy” in Behind the Candelabra by Steven Soderbergh (ARP Selection)

Jury prize: “the pooch posse in The Bling Ring by Sofia Coppola

Jury Members: Peter Bradshaw, Anna Smith, Christian Monggaard(?), Kaleem Aftab, Charles Gant



Winner: “Hagen” (played by Body and Luke) in White God by Kornél Mundruczó (Pyramide)

Jury prize: Roxy Miéville in Goodbye to Language by Jean-Luc Godard

Special mention: Moujik in Saint Laurent by Bertrand Bonello

Jury Members: Kate Muir, Peter Bradshaw, Christian Monggaard, Kaleem Aftab, Robbie Colin



Winner: Dixie (the Maltipoo) played by Lucky in Arabian Nights Part 2, by Miguel Gomes (Shellac)

Jury prize: Bob from ‪The Lobster by Yorgos Lanthimos

Palm Dogmanitarian award Je suis un soldat by Laurent Larivière

Jury Members:  Peter Bradshaw, Kaleem Aftab, Kate Muir, Charles Gant, Anna Smith, Damon Wise



Winner: “Marvin” played by the late Nellie in Paterson by Jim Jarmusch (Le Pacte)

Jury Prize: Jacques the dalmatian in ‪In Bed with Victoria‪ by Justine Triet

Palm Dogmanitarian award: Ken Loach for featuring a three-legged Alsatian “Shea” in a number of his films.

Jury Members: Peter Bradshaw, Kaleem Aftab, Charles Gant, Kate Muir(?), Anna Smith, Rita di Santo (?)



Winner: Bruno the standard white poodle as “Einstein” in The Meyerowitz Stories by Noah Baumbach (Netflix)

Jury Prize: Lupo in Ava by Léa Mysius

PalmDogmanitarian award: Leslie Caron and her 17-year-old rescue dog Tchi Tchi

Jury Members:  Peter Bradshaw, Kate Muir, Kaleem Aftab, Anna Smith, Charles Gant



Winner: Dogman by Matteo Garrone (with a special mention of the frozen and resuscitated chihuahua).  (Le Pacte)

Jury Prize: Diamantino by Gabriel Abrantes & Daniel Schmidt

PalmDogManitarian award: Vanessa Davies and her dog Patrick

Jury Members: Kaleem Aftab, Peter Bradshaw, Anna Smith, Rita di Santo



Winner: Brandy in Once Upon a Time in Hollywood the director of which had dreamed of obtaining this year’s Palm Dog award for the performance of Brandy alongside Brad Pitt. (Sony)


The Grand Jury prize was awarded for the very first-time ex aequo (as a tie)

to Aasha and the Street Dogs by Frederik Du Chau


Little Joe by Jessica Hausner


Palm DogManitarian 2019

awarded to Google for good doggie deeds and wonderfully dog friendly workplace



For the first time we award a dog, human or conspicuously deserving creature for facing adversity as the underdog.

Picking up debut underdog is the RSPCA Huawei funded film featuring Louis Smith promoting adoption of strays notably star lurcher, Penny.


2019 Palm Dog Jury members:   Kaleem Aftab (The I), Peter Bradshaw  (The Guardian), Rita Di Santo (Vice President FIPRESCI), Wendy Mitchell (contributing editor Screen International), Anna Smith (Chair of London Critics Circle and Host of Girls on Film podcast), Tim Robey (The Telegraph), Joe Utichi (Deadline Hollywood), and Damon Wise (film critic and author).

2020 - Cannes Film Festival Cancelled 

Winner Palm Dog of Palm Dogs: “Jack the Dog” played by Uggie in The Artist by Michel Hazanavicius (Warner Bros)

bottom of page